Joined: 25 Dec 2004
Location: Marijuanaville, USA
|Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:28 pm Post subject: Details of new channel mode +D
|+D stands for (D)elayed Join
When a user joins the channel, their join will be delayed by the server. This means the server will not send you the information telling your irc client that the person has joined. Result : You will not see them in the userlist.
These users are considered "hidden".
If you were to join a +D channel, and whois yourself (or someone else who you know is hidden) - the channel would appear as >#channel - the > indicates you are in a hidden/delayed status.
Now, when a hidden user performs an action, or has an action performed upon them, the server will send you the JOIN along with the action, making it appear as if the user just now joined and said/did something.
An action is speaking, /me, /noticing, or /ctcping the channel by the hidden user. It is also when an op sets a mode on the user, such as +o or +v, or when the user is kicked (you'll see join then immediate kick).
Now, the confusing part, channel mode +d
When you finally decide you want to remove the +D mode... the server will automatically set mode +d if there are still hidden users lurking. That mode will stay set until all currently hidden users become active or part/quit. If there are alot of hidden users, this could be a long time before that happens.
To get a list of all hidden users in a +D/+d channel, type :
/names -d #channel
Then voice the users or... set +i (or ban them all) and kick them all out. This'll jumpstart the -D/-d process